Thursday, January 6, 2011

2nd Jimmy Fernandez Cup to kick off on January 7

The 2nd Jimmy Fernandez Cup Basketball Championship is slated to start on January 7, 2011 at the Dagupan City People’s Astrodome. The eight collegiate teams that will be participating in the tournament are: Defending champion Pangasinan Merchant Marine Academy (PAMMA); AIE-College; Colegio de Dagupan (CdD); PIMSAT Colleges; Pangasinan State University (PSU-Lingayen, Pangasinan); University of Eastern Pangasinan (UEP-Binalonan, Pangasinan); University of Luzon (Team B); and University of Pangasinan-PHINMA (Team B).

Seato Gonomil, the league project director explained that the tournament format will be double round-robin elimination. The top two teams will advance to the best-of-three championship games. In case of a three or four-way tie in the top standings after the eliminations, the winner-over-the other rule and/or quotient system will be invoked to determine who will square off for the crown.

The opening ceremonies will be led by Vice Mayor Belen T. Fernandez who named the tournament after her late father, Jimmy Fernandez. 

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails